a saint’s petition through prayer.

God enjoyedgo enjoyed 1

as I sit here at work I cannot grasp how rich a puritan’s prayer were. the Valley of Vision, is a great book filled with grace-filled prayers from the Puritans. My heart overwhelms, in a good way, and it deepens my love for Jesus in unimaginable ways. nonetheless – – sometimes, before, I approach the Throne, I am out of words when I pray. It is just like a dog seeing his reflection on a glass sliding door and instantly hits the glass. has my faith wavered? I ask myself — have I let the spiritual desserts within prevent me from asking Jesus for help? is it pride? is it my parched soul? the distractions? the anxieties? i have faced spiritual warfare and oppression this past month – – it has not been pretty. some questions are probably left unanswered, however, I am reminded of God’s sovereignty where He continues to extend His grace. I am brought back to the Scriptures when Paul write in Romans 8:26-27 – – “Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.27 And he who searches hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God.” in moments of weakness, despair, trial, weary soul – the Spirit who lives within intercedes on my behalf. no prayer is a short-lived half asked prayer – – long prayers are rich, but short two sentence prayers are just as rich. God is more focused on the person’s heart, in its conditions and its motives. It’s in weakness of the saint, where God’s power is made perfect in weakness; His grace is sufficient. In Paul’s “thorn in the flesh,” he pleaded three times with the Lord. In 2 Corinthians 12:7-10, So to keep me from becoming conceited because of the surpassing greatness of the revelations, a thorn was given me in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to harass me, to keep me from becoming conceited. Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong,” we discover – Paul’s persistent petitions with God, and despite of his “storms” – he was content and still was seeking God through prayer.  

Light-Parchment-Banner-Widget1Throughout the Scriptures, we note that Jesus, the Son of God, dismissed Himself to be in fasting and prayer with his Father. Jesus pleaded with God three times also. Matthew 26:38-44 — 38 Then he said to them, “My soul is very sorrowful, even to death; remain here, and watch with me.”39 And going a little farther he fell on his face and prayed, saying, “My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as you will.” 40 And he came to the disciples and found them sleeping. And he said to Peter, “So, could you not watch with me one hour? 41 Watch and pray that you may not enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” 42 Again, for the second time, he went away and prayed, “My Father, if this cannot pass unless I drink it, your will be done.” 43 And again he came and found them sleeping, for their eyes were heavy. 44 So, leaving them again, he went away and prayed for the third time, saying the same words again.” Jesus prayed the same prayer three times pleading with the Father, but notice how both Jesus Christ and Paul were content in whatever the Lord would grant. knowing that i am never alone in my storms or much rather thorn in my flesh, i know God is moving my heart to seek Him in prayer to draw near to Him and enjoy God even then. Jesus wants my heart.  

The hymn below brings me great joy in every season I face knowing the end goal once this race is over is being face to face with Christ my Savior and Lord.  All Glory Be to Christ – Kings Kaleidoscope   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pm7smZbajQA

in His endless Grace, Esther Victoria

Leave a comment